top of page

Meet Ava


Meet Ava

I found her sitting behind a bunch of boys playing a video game at Rocketown in the summer. When the boys got up to leave after failing a level, Ava sat down on the same game and played it perfectly. When the older boys came back she moved again. She heard them talking about how girls shouldn't skateboard or play video games while throwing glances her way. Ava, who was holding a board retreated to our table. She asked who I was and most notably where my Nashville accent was because I "talk funny". I told her I was on tour and that we were playing that night. She looked between me and then at The Protest and said, "With them??? How? You're a girl? I can't even want to skateboard because they say I cant. I want to learn guitar! But I've never seen a girl in a rock band. I just don't think there's anything I can do.". That's when I found myself talking to a younger version of me. I thought that I would never be able to do anything worth doing which led to more insecurities. What I needed to know was this: As God's children, we are called according to His purposes. He will equip us to do what He has intended. We may look, sound, act, work, play, and speak differently, but that's the point. As muscianaries especially, we have the same purpose and goal. My job is to be that person that I needed when I was younger. So I sat with Ava and taught her how to do a kickflip on her board. We went outside and skated on the ramps with all of the older boys. The last thing that we did was played guitar, which was the biggest thing she felt that she couldn't do and I can attest to the fact that she can now play a mean G chord. When I had to get ready to head on stage, I saw that she was now completely at home with who she was and her hobbies, as she was now completely dominating that video game with the boys from earlier.I fully expect to see her do something awesome whether that be becoming a guitarist, or more likely shredding on the Dew Tour. She is now comfortable with the woman of God she was created to be, but how about you? Are you comfortable enough with yourself to be able to go out and do what you were called to? Is there an insecurity that's keeping you? Are you afraid that you don't know what you're doing? The secret is that none of us do, and that's where God comes in. You were created for a purpose. You are here for a reason. You are perfect just the way you are. Now get out there and do a kickflip


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page